WCAG Compliance

What is WCAG?
The Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) are a set of standards created by the World Wide Web Consortium (W3C).

The W3C is an international community that develops regulations and recommendations for the internet to help ensure its longevity and usability. The W3C established the WCAG guidance to provide detailed guidelines for website owners, designers, and developers to create websites and digital content and markup through accessible approaches that work seamlessly with assistive technologies used by people with disabilities.

WCAG compliance is divided into three levels of success criteria:
Level A
Level AA
Level AAA (the strictest standards)

The WCAG 1.0 guidelines were initially published in 1999, were updated in 2008 (WCAG 2.0) and, most recently, in 2018 (WCAG 2.1). As the internet evolves so quickly, the guidelines must be reviewed and revised continually. Each update strives to include the most recent technological advancements and more comprehensive guidelines.

WCAG 3.0 is scheduled for release in 2021 and is intended to be a much more inclusive set of guidelines that are easier to understand and implement.